Graduated Exposure is an Oxymoron

Graduated exposure is a therapeutic method which has proven to be widely effective in all types of psychological disorders relating to fear. This approach, however, contains a significant paradox: it proposes to place someone in contact with that which they…

Based on evidence or theory?

In line with the medical model, different psychotherapy models have gradually moved towards an “evidence-based” evaluation of their effectiveness. This is grounds for celebration: it is better to have an evaluation of the effectiveness of our approach based on science…

Accessing the Self-as-Context while having fun

During these idle times, if you are sick of making bread, I invite you to partake in an experience in getting closer to the Self-as-Context, from your home. The Self-as-Context is a difficult animal to capture, because it doesn’t exist…

ACT is not just for graduates

Recently, a colleague had asked me if it were necessary to have a certain level of cultural, educational or intellectual development in order to understand, and thus be able to benefit, from ACT. This is a question commonly asked  to…

Traitement unifié des troubles anxieux

600px-NewBlankDrugChart

L’approche transdiagnostique, dans laquelle s’inscrit la thérapie d’acceptation et d’engagement, vise à découvrir les processus psychologiques communs à tous les troubles psychologiques. L’idée principale de cette approche en TCC est qu’il existe des points communs fonctionnels entre les troubles, et…

Self-help ACT pour ados

GOOYMfor-teens

Get Out Of Your Mind and Into Your Life est devenu un des classiques de la thérapie d’acceptation et d’engagement. Il s’agit du premier ouvrage destiné à présenter la thérapie au grand public et à proposer des exercices au lecteur afin…

Le changement de perspective s’apprend !

Cc_att_share

La capacité à changer de perspective sur soi et sur le monde représente une compétence importante pour limiter les effets de la fusion avec les pensées et l’évitement des émotions. Voir ses pensées et ses émotions depuis différents points de…

Lectures flexibles

analogie-194x300

A l’évidence, la théorie des cadres relationnels et la thérapie d’acceptation et d’engagement ne sont pas les seules à s’intéresser aux analogies et aux métaphores. Mais rares sont les champs de recherche qui érigent l’analogie au rang de mécanisme central…